Thanksgiving menu – My search for the perfect balance of poultry and principles

This thanksgiving I am celebrating a lot of firsts, I am celebrating my first thanksgiving in New York City, my first live thanksgiving Macy’s day parade, and it will be my very first time roasting a thanksgiving turkey.

O. and I’m a vegetarian.

Our original plan was to Thanksgiving dinner college style, meaning mostly pumpkin bear and appletinis. My friend begged me to roast a turkey, he’s a lovable NYC stereotype, a balding midtown accountant in his late 20’s. He hadn’t had home made thanksgiving turkey since forever, he pleaded. So I found myself carrying a cold, bulky, 13.8 pound turkey from Flatbush Brooklyn, where kosher meat is far more affordable, all the way to the upper east side. It felt very silly, investing so much time into a bird that I would never eat. At the same time, I kept thinking about how magical a proper, traditional Thanksgiving in the city would be, the smell of sage and rosemary filling up the one bedroom apartment. The pumpkin beer and appletinis still on the menu of course, I had to decide what else to make for Thanksgiving. I thought, maybe to balance out the ethically questionable turkey, I would make the rest of the dishes from strictly seasonal, local vegetables.

So what’s seasonal and local on the east coast during the fall. This is the list I found on Sustainabletable.org:

Squash, Snap Peas, Radishes, Potatoes, Pears, Onions, Cauliflower, Carrots, Beets, and Cabbage. Surprisingly, tomatoes are still seasonal this time of year.

Arugula wasn’t listed as in season by sustainable table, but I have a love affair with arugula based salads so I double checked and OmOrganics said it is in season!

So the menu (until I become re-inspired by some new cooking blog) became:

sage and thyme roasted turkey with cornbread and candied onion stuffing – from the Food Network

sauteed radishes and snap peas

arugula and tomato salad

sweet potatoes and marshmellow (Yoni insisted!)

And o of course. appletinis, and pumpkin bear.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

